Internship.

For the past week I have been interning with the Public Relations department of Sydney Opera House in a PR, communications and marketing role.

I feel so privileged  to be here; learning from the PR and marketing team that includes some of the most sought after jobs in the country. The office atmosphere is energetic, and thrives on creativity, efficiency, communication and ideas.

Thanks to Ross Monaghan for the photo.

I am working on the Spring Dance project, which will occupy the Opera House for most of September.
Anyone interested in dance should definitely make a trip up, more details here. I will be coming up for a weekend with my talented dancer sister Maddy, to see as many shows as we can.’

I never thought I would spend so much time on facebook, twitter and blogs during my internship but alas – social media is where the eyeballs are and my skills have been quite useful. I also, surprisingly, used my basic German language knowledge.

A benefits of the project is that I am spending a lot of time thinking about spring, and in the depths of a cold winter thoughts of spring warm the heart. Spring represents growth and renewal.

I am a planner, and have had to teach myself to enjoy the present rather than always focusing on the future (as what is the point of planning amazing things if when you’re there you’re not mentally there?!)

This internship has provided me with more proof that PR is for me – an industry where planning is a daily task because your team understands how important it is for the sustainability of your organisation, product or event.

I have nine days of internship left and am going to continue to make the most of every minute.

Lastly, I will leave you with a tumblr discovery which addressed my nerves pre-internship.

(via mentalillness, loveyourchaos)

2 Responses to “Internship.”

  1. i LOVE LOVE that photo of you and it’s so great to hear that the internship has been reaffirming your PR ambitions! Can’t wait to hear even more about it when you’re back!

  2. The red devil Says:

    Heeeelloooo hooooww areee uuuu???
    Hehe 😛 Sound like ur having the time of your life there 🙂 Congrats Chloe 🙂
    Ur gonna do great and go far, i know it 🙂

    Take care!!!!!! (promise)….
    xoxoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

