WANDERLUST; Liverpool.

Liverpool is a small city, where life revolves around the university and The Beatles tourism industry.

Albert Dock;

I only spent two days there, which was definitely enough. The city lacks atmosphere and feels somewhat empty, although having just spent a week immersed in the enormity of London, perhaps I was the one feeling empty after leaving the city I have fallen so madly in love with. I do love big cities.

I went to Liverpool to do the dorky Beatles sightseeing. The Magical Mystery tour is the only bus tour that visits all of the important Beatles places, such as Strawberry Fields and Penny Lane. It is not well publicised that during the off season they only run one Magical Mystery tour per day. When I arrived in Liverpool they were already sold out.

As much as I was suffering from missing-London-syndrome, I did enjoy exploring Liverpool.

I made friends with two girls from New York. We went on a bar crawl which included a visit to the Cavern Club, where the Beatles played a few hundred gigs.

A quite talented middle age man was playing songs on his guitar and taking requests, so we all sung along to The Beatles and The Smiths whilst having a dance.

I discovered a cosy vegetarian café – The Egg Cafe – located just off Bold Street, which also holds art shows, and I ate there three times in two days. Their vegetarian lasagne is deliciously creamy.

Thanks to foursquare, I also discovered a very Melbournesk cafe called Bold Street Coffee. Whilst reading Kingdom of Fear by Hunter S Thompson I enjoyed a perfect soy cappuccino. Just before I left, an older man sat down and started playing the harp. It was a beautiful moment.

I stayed at the Hatters Hostel in Mount Pleasant Rd. It is very modern, the rooms are large and the ensuites are even larger than some hotels that I have stayed in.

Coming from Australia, where a few hundred kilometres between cities doesn’t influence the accent greatly, it has been quite a shock to my ears to hear the differences between accents in southern and northern England. Northern English accents and colloquialisms add a level of difficulty to communications – but this is one of challenges I love about travelling.

Leave a Reply

